January 2017 recap!

Welcome back to you!

Today I want to go through my January reading experience. Let me highlight what a great month I had and I am so pleased to share with you the quantity and, most importantly, the quality of the reads I had the pleasure to encounter!

In 2017, I set a very aggressive goal yet January allowed me to outperform, although to be fair, some of these reads were started in December!

I will just go through my reads in chronological order, unless I read more than one book in a series in which case I will string them together. I will also provide you with my rating for the book.

  • The Alchemists of Loom by Elisa Kova. Best YA book I read so far, 4 stars out of 5. My in depth review on the blog here!
  • Uprooted by Naomi Novik. A great new fairy tale, absolutely entertaining. 4 stars out of 5.
  • The Silent Army by James A. Moore. Last book of the Seven Forges series. Great characters, extremely interesting story, great ending. 4 stars out of 5.
  • Gardens of the Moon by Steven Erikson. This is the first book of the Malazan Book of the Fallen series and it was a re-read for me. I loved it more than the first time. 5 stars out of 5. My in depth review on the blog here!
  • Rise of Empire and Heir of Novron, both by Michael J. Sullivan. Second and third book in the Riyria Revelations. Great books, perfect continuation and end to the series and the love for Hadrien and Royce will just thrive and continue. 4 stars out of 5 for Rise of Empire and 5 stars out of 5 for Heir of Novron. My in depth review of the Rise of Empire here!
  • Promise of Blood, The Crimson Campaign and In the Field Marshal’s Shadow: Stories from the Powder Mage Universe by Brian McClellan. The first two are books 1 and 2 in the Powder Mage series and the last being a novella in the series. Amazing series, great characters, pure addiction. Once I start one of these books, that is the only thing I can do with my spare time. All 4 stars out of 5.
  • The Thousand Names by Django Wexler, first book in the Shadow Campaigns series. I loved it, it was a great fantasy tale and I gushed about it. 5 stars out of 5. My in depth review here!
  • Senlin Ascends by Josiah Bancroft, first book in the Books of Babel series. I liked it, it did not dazzle me though. This was a 3 stars out of 5.

All in all, I loved this reading month, I was lucky to string great books one after the other and I loved the interaction with the community on Goodreads.
Have you read these books? Do you agree with my opinions? How was your reading month? Any books that you want to highlight? Let me know your thoughts in the comment section down below!

Leave a Reply

