Favorite polarizing books – T5W

We are back talking about the Top 5 Wednesday (T5W) topic on favorite polarizing books!
If you want to know more about Top 5 Wednesday, please visit the link to the Goodreads group here!

5 . Uprooted by Naomi Novik (Hardcover, 435 pages, published on May 19th 2015 by Del Rey)

I really enjoyed the fairy tale vibe and writing style of Naomi Novik; I found myself drifting into this land of magic and mystery, a place I wanted to visit and spend time learning everything about the Dragon and his abilities.
Yet, this is a book that targets a specific audience, women. Hence the polarization. Now, I am not saying male readers will not like it (nor that female readers will most certainly like it) but the book is addressing a specific target and I do not think there is anything wrong with that.

4. Storm Front (the Dresden Files#1) by Jim Butcher – Mass Market Paperback, First Edition, 322 pages, published on April 2000 by Penguin ROC

Urban fantasy is a very specific and difficult genre to work with. Storm Front is the first book of the Dresden Files and I loved it. Set in Chicago, a P.I. aiding the police in order to solve murders; this is a book that has mixed reviews yet I had so much fun reading it. So much that I would love to resume reading the series this year and continue following the hilarious Harry and his skull.

3.  A court of thorns and roses – Hardcover, 1st Edition, 416 pages, published on May 5th 2015 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens –  and

2. A court of mist and fury – Hardcover, 1st, 624 pages, published on May 3rd 2016 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens

both by Sarah J. Maas

This was a difficult choice because I continue expressing an unpopular opinion but here it comes.
A court of thorns and roses has been cast by most of the readers as a poor book. I did not think so; I actually liked this quite a bit; true Feyre might not always make sense in her decisions, yet she is a strong and independent woman. The world that Sarah J. Maas introduces is interesting, the interaction between humans and Fae is cool and the Fae kingdoms is extremely well thought.

A court of mist and fury is absolutely praised by the community. I did not find it that spectacular; sure, it continues the story set in the first book but I did not particularly connect with Feyre this time around. Sure, Sarah J. Mass keeps introducing interesting fantasy concepts, new races, abilities, old and new foes; yet the quality of the book did not appear to be much different than the first one in my opinion.

1. Gardens of the Moon (the Malazan Book of the Fallen #1) by Steven Erikson
This is one of those series that even the author is aware you either are going to love or hate. To be fair, I believe that the complexity of this book allows for an “easy” hate target because it requires the reader to be a bit more engaged than with the vast majority of other (fantasy) books. It is a difficult book, it is complicated to understand and especially at the beginning the connections tend to be a bit lost. Yet, the rewards for sticking around are immense. I also noticed that Gardens of the Moon has a very “low” score on Goodreads and I was completely shocked to know that. I have to admit that I only heard positive comments about the book – and all the people I recommended the series to just loved it – so I am curious to know what the issue with the book really is.
This is one of my gush books – and I am preparing a review for it with casting reference!

Please let me know your thoughts about this list and comment below to tell me what are you polarizing favorite books – or what are the books you did not enjoy but the community gushed about them!

2 thoughts on “Favorite polarizing books – T5W

    1. You should! I had very high expectations though and I was a bit disappointed (I guess for all the hype around the book and it happens from time to time!) but I am sure that if you liked the first you will find the second entertaining!

      Like

Leave a Reply

